Skip to main content

Call for Nominations  

The Kjetil Hatlebrekke Memorial Book Prize is a biennial award recognising scholarship within the realm of global intelligence studies. It was set up by the King’s College Centre for the Study of Intelligence to honour the life and work of the late Dr Kjetil Anders Ely Hatlebrekke. Dr Hatlebrekke was a Norwegian practitioner-scholar with 33 years of service in the Norwegian Armed Forces and the Intelligence Service. He also authored the 2019 book The Problem of Secret Intelligence - a deep fusion of the philosophy of knowledge and real-world intelligence experience.

The Hatlebrekke Prize aims to recognise recent scholarship on intelligence operations, cultures and systems outside the United States, United Kingdom, Australia, Canada and New Zealand. It encourages scholars to go beyond traditional areas of inquiry and explore both how intelligence organisations and professionals conduct intelligence in Europe (excluding the UK), Africa, Asia and Latin America, and how that intelligence is applied in military operations, diplomacy and counter-terrorism.

The Kjetil Hatlebrekke prize committee is composed of representatives from the King’s Centre for the Study of Intelligence, the International Journal of Intelligence and CounterIntelligence, the University of Bath and the Norwegian Intelligence School. The Committee will consider monographs about intelligence in non-Five Eyes countries that have been published in 2022 and 2023. These works must be written in English to be eligible. The committee will accept self-nominations by authors as well as nominations by others.

How to apply?

Nominations have been closed. If you have any questions, please email us at


The Prize winner will be invited to give a keynote presentation at The King’s Centre for Intelligence Studies Lecture Series.


The deadline for nominations was 8 December 2023 (midnight UK time). The panel will announce the winner by 18 March 2024. 

Our team

We’re a diverse group of leading scholars, practitioners, visiting fellows, and doctoral researchers from four continents.

Meet our team